Blog Traffic Battle- Facebook vs. Everything Else

Testing the Engagement of My Social Audience

I have a decent amount of Twitter followers which occasionally mention and Re-Tweet me, decent connections on LinkedIn, decent circles on Google+ and a decent number of Facebook friends, but how engaged are they really? Once answered, then the question is where are they engaged? Facebook is consistently touted as the most powerful way to drive traffic to most content, is it powerful enough to beat the 3 next biggest networks combined? I conducted a little experiment to answer these questions, posting content across my big 4 networks to see what and where would click through.

I post stuff everywhere all the time, but I’ve never measured the power of my network to drive traffic to my blog, which doesn’t really have a previous audience, for which I was able to contain a relatively constant variable;  0-5 views a day for the last two months.

Twitter Profile Stats

Twitter Profile Stats

In order to test this I posted what I consider to be a very engaging blog post of mine about how to get job interviews out of college. I assumed my social audience should be quite engaged with this as it includes hundreds of college age students and unemployed. I posted the blog link on my Twitter, Linkedin and Google + and waited an hour. 18 views.

Then I posted it on my Facebook profile and a newer page called #AggieLife, then waited an hour more. I conducted this test 9:30am-11:30am, which is one of the slower times of the day for all social networks (peaks being before 8am and around 11pm) but my hypothesis was I would see more engagement from two posts on Facebook than 1 post each on my Twitter/Linkedin/Google+.

My hypothesis was supported! Within about an hour after posting on Facebook,  56 views

By 3pm, 72 views.

Referrer analytics showed 36 from Facebook and 8 from Twitter, 2 from LinkedIn, a couple other miscellaneous accounting for only 48 views. This shows that WordPress analytics do not capture all referrers, since there was consistent traffic of 0-5 views a day on my blog for the last two months.

Facebook Profile Stats

Facebook Profile Stats

Aside from analytics, I can only assume most of my Twitter traffic disappeared quickly because my Tweet by then was likely pushed below viewing range in most feeds. When I posted on Facebook the views were more sustained than Twitter, coming in consistently throughout the hour, whereas Twitter spiked quickly and died.

I’ll look at conducting a future study to see how sharing content on multiple related Facebook pages drives traffic, such as the #Aggielife page I mentioned. I am working on building large followings via Facebook pages,  such as #yolo, for there may be incredible, even monetizable marketing power in pages to drive traffic and views, which is very valuable to a digital marketer like me studying how to seed viral content.

Blog Traffic from Social

Blog Traffic from Social

 

14 thoughts on “Blog Traffic Battle- Facebook vs. Everything Else

  1. Thank you for another informative site. Where else may just I am getting that kind
    of information written in such a perfect means? I have a mission that I am just now
    operating on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such information.

  2. It’s genuinely very difficult in this full of activity life to listen news on Television, so I only use internet for that purpose, and obtain the hottest news.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Excellent keen analytical vision to get fine detail and may anticipate difficulties before
    they will happen.

  4. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your blog? My website is in the very same area of interest as yours
    and my users would really benefit from some of the information
    you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Appreciate it!

  5. Hello I am so glad I found your website, I really found you by accident, while
    I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow
    I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round
    interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  6. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thank you!

  7. iron trellis says:

    An Arbor or Trellis can be a way for you to create a focal point that will incorporate symmetry in your landscape design.

    This might incorporate a normal concept or it’s possible a
    colored garden. Hole saws: Hole saw can change the name
    of the hole cutter.

  8. Bed bugs will most likely be hiding in their beds,
    cages, or where ever they sleep, lay or hang out.
    The best dog bed will allow your dog to sleep in comfort and rest in peace.
    More often than not, women find it very difficult to accept how they look naked, so they feel
    ashamed to show off their bodies even when they
    are perfectly buff and slender to the eyes of their
    partners or spouses.

  9. Nice post. I be taught something more difficult on
    completely different blogs everyday. It’ll at all
    times be stimulating to read content from different writers and practice a bit of something from their store.
    Iཿd want to use some with the content material on my blog whether or not you donཿt mind.
    Natually Iཿll offer you a hyperlink on your internet blog.
    Thanks for sharing.

  10. a says:

    Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, very good blog!

  11. My brother suggested I may like this website.

    He was once entirely right. This put up truly made my day.
    You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

  12. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for hotels packages

  13. jon young says:

    Very shortly this web site will be famous amid all blogging and site-building users,
    due to it’s nice articles

    jon young شركات تنظيف jon young jon young jon young رش مبيدات قبل صبة النظافة jon young افضل شركة تنظيف خزانات المياه بالرياض
    jon young افضل شركة تنظيف شقق بالرياض افضل شركة عزل خزانات بالرياض jon young افضل شركة
    تسليك مجارى بالرياض jon young افضل
    شركة كشف تسربات المياه بالرياض jon young
    jon young افضل شركة تنظيف بيوت بالرياض jon young jon young افضل شركة كشف تسربات المياه بالرياض jon young jon young
    افضل شركة تسليك مجارى بالرياض
    jon young jon young jon young افضل شركة رش دفان بالرياض
    افضل شركة تنظيف بالدمام افضل شركة مكافحة حشرات بالدمام jon young jon young
    jon young jon young jon young jon young
    jon young jon young jon young jon young
    jon young jon young jon young jon young افضل شركة مكافحة الصراصير بالرياض
    jon young افضل شركة رش مبيدات بالرياض jon young
    افضل شركة تنظيف خزانات بالرياض jon young jon young تنظيف
    شقق jon young افضل شركة مكافحة حشرات بالرياض jon young افضل شركة تخرين
    عفش بالرياض
    jon young افضل شركة تنظيف خزانات بالرياض jon young jon young jon young jon young {افضل شركة تنظيف بيارات بالرياض jon young

Intelligent sincerity below

